Databases- New databases will be added July 2017!

The library provides a number of databases for use by our patrons. Most are available to use anywhere with a Minuteman Library card; those indicated in red below can only be used at the library. For a few databases, home access is available only to Stow residents.

If you are not associated with a Minuteman Library, the best place for you to log in to access databases and other electronic resources is at the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners web site.

Click here for an alphabetical list of databases.

For a libguide on our various state-wide databases, click here

Agriculture Collection

With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of a growing body of knowledge. Researchers will have access to current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry—from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture. With strong emphasis on titles covered in the Agricola database, this collection of more than 600 journal titles is focused on agriculture-related fields. In addition, more than 30 Delmar titles provide in-depth coverage on a variety of agriculture-related topics.

Academic OneFile 

Academic Onefile contains 8,000 academic journals, the majority in full-text, available in HTML and PDF formats. In addition it contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full-text New York Times content from 1985.


Powered by InfoTrac, the Communications & Mass Media Collection brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.

Criminal Justice Collection 

The Criminal Justice Collection database focuses on all aspects of the criminal justice field. Publications include: American Criminal Law Review; Corrections Today; Criminal Justice; Criminal Justice Ethics; Forensic Examiner; Psychology Today; and more.

Educator's Reference Complete 

A collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports (most full-text) focusing on all levels of education, educational administration and policy.

Expanded Academic ASAP    

From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.  Access scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers - with full text and images!

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection 

With current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry – including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.


Library science students, information science and technology professionals, and others will value the Information Science & Library Issues Collection. It is updated daily with articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, business information, and more.


Protection of assets--physical or intellectual--is a concern for those ranging from the individual property owner to multinational corporations. The Insurance & Liability Collection connects researchers to hundreds of thousands of updated articles from leading journals, including: Business Insurance, Claims, Employee Benefit News, National Underwriter Life & Health, Pensions & Investments, Risk Management, and more.


Business

Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

The Business Economics & Theory Collection offers instant access to full-text academic journals and magazines--with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. Powered by InfoTrac, it includes more than 1,800 titles. Content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.


Small Business Resource Center provides entrepreneurs and small business owners with a one-stop source for all the key information needs, including financing; financial planning; business plan creation; market analysis; sales strategy; tax planning and more. You'll find current topics, overviews, and tips and strategies from a combination of content, including full text periodicals and news sources, reference books, and links to websites that focus exclusively on small business topics. You can also link to state-specific, professionally created legal forms in a variety of subject areas.


Career

Vocations and Careers Collection 

Finding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones. Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

 
Children

Britannica Public Library Edition for Kids 

Contains Compton's Encyclopedia, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and a wealth of other age-appropriate material for younger students and children.

Britannica Online School Edition 

Elementary, Middle and High School levels, plus read-aloud al all levels and translation for over 50 languages. Britannica Online School Edition gives teachers and students instant access to four complete encyclopedias and other resources that ensure consistency with classroom topics and age-appropriate language. This unique reference and learning suite also offers high-quality online learning materials that have been developed by teachers and curriculum experts. Designed for all levels of learning from elementary school through high school, Britannica Online School Edition offers students an easy-to-use gateway to the vast resources of Encyclopædia Britannica.

Britannica Learning Zone (early childhood) 

Grade Level PreK-5. Play, discover, create—these are the cornerstones of learning for young children. Now, Britannica gives teachers an online solution designed specifically for the needs of ages 4 to 7. Learning Zone is a classroom-tested, interactive learning environment that gives early learners enjoyable, engaging, and developmentally appropriate activities to help grow their minds, their spirits, and their intellectual horizons.

Kids InfoBits 

Kids InfoBits targets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate and visual graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine and reference content.

Research in Context
Research in Context
covers the most-studied topics in literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history, as well as the social issues most relevant to this age group.

InfoTrac Student Edition 

This database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.


Current Events and News

Boston Globe 

Provides full text access to The Boston Globe - 1980-current.


The New York Times 

This database includes full-text of the New York Times from January 1, 1985 to the present.


General OneFile 

General OneFile is a one-stop source for news and periodical articles, including most of the content across all Thomson/Gale databases. OneFile contains over 5,000 full-text periodical titles, and more than 9,200 titles in all, on a wide range of topics.

Global Issues in Context 

Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.


This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section or other fields, eliminating random searching through newspaper archives. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.


Popular Magazines provides access to the most searched magazines across the InfoTrac products. All of the t
itles are selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons and the database includes many titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries.


Encyclopedias and Reference

Britannica Online Public Library Edition 

Britannica Online Public Library Edition contains 4 full encyclopedias, the Encyclopædia Britannica, Compton's by Britannica, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia each covering the research needs of a different age group. Along with this encyclopedia content, Public Library Edition contains full-text magazine articles, Web sites that have been reviewed and verified by Britannica editors, a homework help section for students, a world atlas, Merriam-Webster dictionaries and thesauri for children and adults, a Spanish-English dictionary, video and audio content, daily content updates, and more.

eBooks and Digital Media

Digital Media Catalog (OverDrive) 


The Digital Media Catalog (OverDrive) provides popular audiobooks and eBooks for users to download.

There is also a collection of Public Domain eBooks that includes many popular classics. 

Freegal
Freegal is a free music download service where Stow patrons can get access to millions of songs from over 10,000 record labels. Stow library card holders can download three MP3s a week from the site and import them into iTunes or onto a variety of devices.


Other Resources:
Boston Public Library
Massachusetts residents are eligible to use resources from the Boston Public Library. If you do not already have a BPL library card, you can apply for an eCard. eCards expire after 3 years unless they are upgraded to standard BPL cards.

Visit BPL's website for more information and to sign up for an eCard.

Looking for a specific journal or article? Search by title or browse by subject to access over 11,850 electronic journals, magazines and newspapers.

Researching a topic? Do a Keyword Search in multiple databases at once!



Health and Medicine

Health and Wellness Resource Center 

Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, over 700 health videos from partner Healthology, Inc., hundreds of pamphlets and health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.

Health Reference Center Academic 

Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug Abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection Resource Center 

All aspects of the Nursing profession from direct patient care to health care administration are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection

This collection includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, providing researchers with access to topics discussed in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.


Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
 
History and Social Studies

Britannica Annals of American History

Annals of American History delivers more than 2,000 primary source documents plus 700 multimedia elements that guide you through the history of the United States.


A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, the Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.


Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.


Military and Intelligence Database Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.


Religion & Philosophy Collection features a selection of more than 200 magazines and academic journals--everything from Anglican Journal to Zygon--covering religion and the related areas of philosophy and anthropology. Researchers can use this database not only to study theological approaches to social issues, but also to learn about the impact that religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Coverage, which includes more than 1.1 million articles updated daily, begins as early as 1980 for indexing and 1983 for periodical full text.

U.S. History In Context 

U.S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.


U.S. History Collection is useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher. This collection of journals provides balanced coverage of both current thought on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field


Researchers accessing the more than 1.7 million articles in the War and Terrorism Collection will gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.


World History Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.

World History In Context

World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
   

Kitchen, Home, and Garden

Culinary Arts Collection 

The Culinary Arts Collection includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines from 1980 to present. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection 

A collection of more than 80 journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture, with the addition of over 20 subject specific reference sources from Delmar, this collection provides information for gardening enthusiasts and professionals alike.


The Home Improvement Collection puts the research of hobbyists and professionals alike on a solid foundation with more than 4.5 million articles from more than 200 home improvement-focused titles, covering topics including architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and others.

Literature and Biography

Biography in Context 

Biography in Context
is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

Literature Resource Center  

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

WorldCat  IN LIBRARY USE ONLY

OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
For home access, try the free version at http://www.worldcat.org


Media, Art, and Music


The Fine Arts & Music Collection places 10.4 million articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. More than 250 journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) index are available in full text.

Freegal is a free music download service where Stow patrons can get access to millions of songs from over 10,000 record labels. Stow library card holders can download three MP3s a week from the site and import them into iTunes or onto a variety of devices.


Pop Culture Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.


Science

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection 

  Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection, which includes nearly 200 journals, provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.


With the General Science Collection, researchers can remain current with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas. More than 350 full-text, non-embargoed journals are covered; updated daily, this collection includes more than 1.6 million articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry. Key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

Science in Context 

Science in Context provides topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations, as well as articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites. The database covers curriculum-related science topics, and offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify content directly correlated to state and national standards.
Spanish

Britannica Spanish Reference Center  

Elementary -- Middle -- Escolar (K-8)

 

                                                       

Spanish Reference Center delivers two products in one—a reference collection for ages 6-12 and another for the high school and college ages. Separate home pages for each level allow schools and libraries to tailor the product to their users' needs, making it the only online Spanish-language database that offers age-appropriate content for everyone.